Universal Pictures | Release Date: April 3, 2015
6.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 976 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
659
Mixed:
169
Negative:
148
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
jafifiMay 20, 2015
Generally very spotty and eventually generic. the fight scenes are the only goo thing, but they come too fast, and ofeten too underdeveloped.some inexplicable things happen, and no one seems to have the answers.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
6
reviewerd1Apr 18, 2016
Average at best to be honest. There are some really good action scenes but at the same time the plot has a lot of flaws. There are some really unrealistic scenes for this type of Genre as well, for example cars getting parachuted out of aAverage at best to be honest. There are some really good action scenes but at the same time the plot has a lot of flaws. There are some really unrealistic scenes for this type of Genre as well, for example cars getting parachuted out of a plane, which sounds great but when you watch it, it looks so unrealistic. This isn't a film about super heroes! I have really enjoyed past F+F films but this one certainly wasn't the greatest. Not unbearable but average. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
vikesh2206Apr 3, 2015
The action packed Furious 7 drives on a impossibly narrow stretch of plot; but being part of the Fast & Furious franchise which doesn't exactly abide to the Laws of Physics, just about manages to scrape through. Perhaps it's strongest pointThe action packed Furious 7 drives on a impossibly narrow stretch of plot; but being part of the Fast & Furious franchise which doesn't exactly abide to the Laws of Physics, just about manages to scrape through. Perhaps it's strongest point is how, given the amount of over the top stunts it contains, still manages to deftly handle Paul Walker's character in an unavoidably emotional last several minutes. R.I.P Paul Walker. Expand
12 of 16 users found this helpful124
All this user's reviews
4
sixers03Apr 3, 2015
Furious 7 is action packed. Too much so. It detracts from the story. Which these movies already had very little to begin with. There was never a climax, as the whole movie tries to be a climax. Too much dramatic music/slow motion scenes andFurious 7 is action packed. Too much so. It detracts from the story. Which these movies already had very little to begin with. There was never a climax, as the whole movie tries to be a climax. Too much dramatic music/slow motion scenes and countless one liners that fall flat. I love the series, and Fast Five is one of my favorite action movies ever, but this movie didn't do it for me. Expand
11 of 15 users found this helpful114
All this user's reviews
5
Le__XenomorphApr 13, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really can't like this movie.... I just can't... It's a cliched and generic action movie with cars. In fact, it felt like it was trying to be mission impossible. Don't get me wrong, the action was really fun and that is one of the redeeming qualities of this movie. That and the ending which has a tribute for Paul Walker and it made me cry like a baby. I just couldn't contain the tears. That ending and the action alone bring this movie up to a 5/10 (mediocre) Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
4
whooosaahJun 25, 2015
Whoaaaa what an average movie.It's just another typical blockbuster film.Insane,full of explosion and boring.What make this movie boring is James Wan can't keep the pace and it's tension.The first half was great (From Caucasus Mountains sceneWhoaaaa what an average movie.It's just another typical blockbuster film.Insane,full of explosion and boring.What make this movie boring is James Wan can't keep the pace and it's tension.The first half was great (From Caucasus Mountains scene until Dubai),but the second until the third (After Dubai until full of kaboom scene in LA) is weaken.It feels like Roller Coaster.The ending was tear-jerking,But it can't save the movie.They need to stop to make another sequel.It's time for Toretto's Family to take a rest. (It's just my opinion) Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
4
Jess_HillJul 12, 2015
What a ridicuous film! Some delightfully hilarious violence and gleeful action sequences shot with engaging cinematography made for an uproarious experience visually, but that is where the praise must end. The dialogue is beyond terrible,What a ridicuous film! Some delightfully hilarious violence and gleeful action sequences shot with engaging cinematography made for an uproarious experience visually, but that is where the praise must end. The dialogue is beyond terrible, product placement is utterly horrid and woefully integrated, in fact any time a 'storyline' is attempted, the film loses its way entirely. The performances are nothing short of abysmal and the 'male gaze' is thoroughly nauseating. I still had fun as I have a weakness for action films, but don't expect anything beyond some glitzy stunts. 3.99/10 Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
4
hayder1984Apr 6, 2015
ok this movie is far far away from reality,i just watch it yesterday

its ****

the main characters kill thousands of bad people with out scratch !!!!

he jump from building to other with his car with out a scratch
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
5
OckthnielApr 7, 2015
I really wanted to like this movie. There haven't been many in the series that I thought were really good. The first one is by far the best in my opinion and I believe that it has to do with the more limited budget forcing more realistic carI really wanted to like this movie. There haven't been many in the series that I thought were really good. The first one is by far the best in my opinion and I believe that it has to do with the more limited budget forcing more realistic car sequences and more believable action. These types of movies need to get back to the type of chases that made Bullet and the French Connection chases classics that people still talk about.

I thought having Statham in this movie was going to raise the fight sequences to the quality of movies like The Transporter, but I was wrong. Statham's talents were mostly wasted as were Tony Jaa's. They could have easily been replaced by just about anybody and nothing would have been different. These guys really should have been on opposite sides of this fight so an epic clash could be filmed.

With Diesel doing voice acting in movies like Iron Giant and recently Guardians of the Galaxy, I feel like there is a very legitimate actor under all of that muscle that has been mostly overlooked or paired with bad scripts for most of his career. This is no real exception. All of the dialogue between him and Rodgriguez was cringe worthy and the filler dialogue between wasn't much better.

The only thing I thought this movie got right was the tasteful tribute to Paul Walker. The way they handled it brought satisfactory closure to the character but leaves it open for further installments. Although, at this point, I must say unless they are willing to up the quality of the writing and get back to more realistic action (which can be just as entertaining) they should just stop now.
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
6
sonuyosApr 3, 2015
The movie is kinda mediocre, didnt stood up to the name of F&F Franchise name...

I understand it is kinda tribute to Paul Walker and total respect there and last 5min's literally took my breath away.. but the movie didnt stood up to
The movie is kinda mediocre, didnt stood up to the name of F&F Franchise name...

I understand it is kinda tribute to Paul Walker and total respect there and last 5min's literally took my breath away.. but the movie didnt stood up to expectation, just no excitement through out the movie...weak story....

Kinda disappointed as well, still worth one watch...
Expand
6 of 12 users found this helpful66
All this user's reviews
6
irmdogApr 5, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Number 5 was best because the story made you think. This movie, like #6, has very little story but lots of action. Action scenes at the end are way too over the top, like jet helicopters and drones chasing cars in L.A. Good movie that could have been great if the movie makers spent more time on story instead of crazy and unbelievable action scenes, how many times does Vin Diesel crash full speed into stuff before we say "come on, give me a break!" Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
4
Fluid_DynamicsApr 10, 2015
Don't expect this one to be special, it just isn't.

If you can get past the: 1. Poor acting, 2. Derivative plot, 3. Schwarzenegger-esque, endless, unsuccessful, terrible one-liner attempts by Vin Diesel, 4. Awful jokes 5. One long
Don't expect this one to be special, it just isn't.

If you can get past the:
1. Poor acting,
2. Derivative plot,
3. Schwarzenegger-esque, endless, unsuccessful, terrible one-liner attempts by Vin Diesel,
4. Awful jokes
5. One long strung together cliched film device after another--just pounded home...

Then there's some entertainment to be had here. The screenplay and story-boarding on this must have read like they were done by a 16 year old.

What you'll get, if by some miracle none of this draws you out of the movie (we went to an IMAX), is:
Some car chases
Some good, but not great explosions
Some ok, but not good fight sequences (definitely underutilized their creativity and talent here)
A showdown at the end.

This is around a Metacritic 55. The current 67 is by comparison, if you were required to sit through the prior 6 movies.
Fury, Blackhat, Hobbit, Unbroken, none of which were great, but all better, and rated lower.
Pick one of those and don't give this one your money.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
4
QualitygamerApr 13, 2015
This movie is literally One Liner: The Movie. I tried very hard to enjoy everything other than the explosions and set pieces, but come on with the writing and acting on display here. I know Johnson can act better. I know Diesel can act ANDThis movie is literally One Liner: The Movie. I tried very hard to enjoy everything other than the explosions and set pieces, but come on with the writing and acting on display here. I know Johnson can act better. I know Diesel can act AND write a whole lot better, as he was really crappy here. But not a minute passed without some freaking terrible one-liner and some hamfisted dialogue. I like you Vin, you're an awesome guy, but you could have done a whole lot better here. I agree highly with the negative review claiming you need to enjoy motor oil in your popcorn to like this movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
theofficeApr 12, 2015
I feel overall the movie tried to focus too much on the action and scenery/exotic locations than the actual story and characters. Granted one of the main guys died prior to completion of the film so they were probably a little limited in thatI feel overall the movie tried to focus too much on the action and scenery/exotic locations than the actual story and characters. Granted one of the main guys died prior to completion of the film so they were probably a little limited in that respect. Regardless I think F&F movies have essentially run its course. The first couple were good then when the rock came on it was good again but now I think they are beating a dead horse a little. Action is very far over the top. Just couldn't really get that into it. Story was kinda weak as well. Still like the actors and that is probably the only reason why I still go to these movies. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
JekSpaceyApr 10, 2015
At the end of the movie I could not stop the tears , let's be clear , not for moving tribute to Walker , but for all the action that my poor eyes have had to put up with . However , despite the brand is always the same , I think this chapterAt the end of the movie I could not stop the tears , let's be clear , not for moving tribute to Walker , but for all the action that my poor eyes have had to put up with . However , despite the brand is always the same , I think this chapter is the most solid of the whole saga , and perhaps the not credible action scenes found an environment more familiar to them . Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
DokaluApr 26, 2015
What can I say... Cool action movie, a lot of cliches, nice hot chicks, good special effects, terrible story and regular acting... It is what anyone would expect from this kind of movies these days. It didn't disappoint me but it didn't blowWhat can I say... Cool action movie, a lot of cliches, nice hot chicks, good special effects, terrible story and regular acting... It is what anyone would expect from this kind of movies these days. It didn't disappoint me but it didn't blow up my mind either.
Real score: 6.5
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
ElMarko44Apr 13, 2015
If nobody watches the Fast and Furious movies for the plot, why do they keep trying to put plot in these movies?

The attempts at establishing a character motivation story are nothing short of laughable. The dialogue that's supposed to
If nobody watches the Fast and Furious movies for the plot, why do they keep trying to put plot in these movies?

The attempts at establishing a character motivation story are nothing short of laughable. The dialogue that's supposed to tell my why I care about these characters, and why these characters care about whatever they're doing, wasn't much more than a string of cliches and one liners.

"The enemy of my enemy is my friend."
"I don’t have friends. I got family".

"If you die, I die."

"Thought you could leave without saying goodbye?"

If the dialogue is in the movie to explain the action, that's fine. In this case, though, the writers are trying to make me care about the characters and it falls painfully flat.

To make matters worse, most of the actors in this film can't act. I recall the scene in which Kurt Russell is explaining to Vin Diesel why he needs to take this "one last job". Initially, Diesel's character doesn't want to participate in the caper, but Kurt Russell provides the right motivation to change his mind. However, had the sound been muted, I would never had known. I would have watched Vin Diesel stare angrily, with his most "badass" glare, for 60 seconds. There was no change in expression, no body language, no indication that Vin Diesel had any cognitive activity at all. Just words tumbling out of his mouth as he speaks and agrees to the job as if prompted by someone off screen.

I guess there was some romance, and some drama, too. I couldn't tell. Again, the acting was so poor, and the dialogue was so bland and incongruent, that the director needed to rely on the score to tell the audience how they should feel at that moment. Sad moment = violins. Romantic moment = violins and soaring strings. Even in the middle of one of the many thrilling action sequences, for the 4 seconds when a character glances at his or her true love while their lives hang in the balance, violins and soaring strings. I'm so happy the director gave me those audio cues to let me know that I'm supposed to feel something right then...

Speaking of the action sequences, they were mostly terrific. No longer is F&F about fast cars, it's a full-on action adventure series now. The action was thrilling to say the least. Well shot, well choreographed, and well stunted. Check your sense of disbelief at the door because so many of the stunts and sequences defy all logic and physics. Nonetheless, they were incredible and incredibly fun.

I would like to see more F&F films in the future. My advice, stick with the action and adventure stuff. The "feelings" stuff, it's just not your thing.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
BB_CriticApr 29, 2015
Furious 7 starts out with promise with a good setup for Vin Diesel's character and all the other characters, but immediately lets me down with its generic villain and generic action sequences. Very few times in the movie did I enjoy it. ManyFurious 7 starts out with promise with a good setup for Vin Diesel's character and all the other characters, but immediately lets me down with its generic villain and generic action sequences. Very few times in the movie did I enjoy it. Many times I wanted to scream at the screen because of the ridiculous physics rules in the movie that don't make sense. But the movie's saving grace is with it's tear jerking ending. Furious 7 is not good movie on it's own, but is a good sendoff for paul walker 5/10 Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
NerdConsultantApr 8, 2015
Overall my thoughts on Fast and Furious 7 is it is basically the same movie as Fast 5 and 6. There is not much different here and I didn’t really like it the first time. Fans of the previous 6 films will probably lap this one up and IOverall my thoughts on Fast and Furious 7 is it is basically the same movie as Fast 5 and 6. There is not much different here and I didn’t really like it the first time. Fans of the previous 6 films will probably lap this one up and I would really say I can only recommend it to them. Everyone else steer clear of this one. There is not much to it and I will say it’s not as bad as Need for Speed but I didn’t really have a good time seeing this one. The acting isn’t great, the plot has a million plot holes and does’t really work overall and the stunts really felt like they were insulting my intelligence. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
6
lasttimeisawApr 5, 2015
An Easter weekend cinema-going of this topical car-chasing no brainer, a franchise has already exceedingly overstayed its shelf-life, reaches an unforeseen acme catalysed by the tragic loss of its co-leading man Paul Walker last yearAn Easter weekend cinema-going of this topical car-chasing no brainer, a franchise has already exceedingly overstayed its shelf-life, reaches an unforeseen acme catalysed by the tragic loss of its co-leading man Paul Walker last year (ironically in a car crash, again a bloody testimony of "movies are deceitful”, considering in this latest offering, no lack of crashes, but not even a minor concussion incurred or whatsoever.). After the series best FAST FIVE (2011, 7/10) and a degenerative FAST AND FURIOUS 6 (2013, 6/10), this time, the director chair has been delegated to James Wan, the master-hand behind SAW & INSIDIOUS horror trademarks, it is a sure-thing its box office will explode and achieve another series-high, but reckoning a story and cast overhaul is inevitable for its next move, let us take it as a sincere eulogy not only to Paul but the franchise itself.

continue reading the review on my blog, google: cinema omnivore, thanks!
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
4
TubeyApr 10, 2015
It's the same film as every single one that has gone before. If you liked the others, you'll like this. However, it is objectively a poor film - poorly acted, obsessively loud, terrible cameos, pointless frames gratuitously focusing on femaleIt's the same film as every single one that has gone before. If you liked the others, you'll like this. However, it is objectively a poor film - poorly acted, obsessively loud, terrible cameos, pointless frames gratuitously focusing on female arses for no reason other than "just because", nonsense plot, a complete lack of story continuity, with obviously dead characters suddenly not being dead - again, "just because"...

Basically, it's a movie for teenage lads and boy racers - there's nothing wrong with that, but don't expect people judging a movie objectively to be "nice" to it. No brain, plenty of noise.

The Rock performs the Rock Bottom through a glass table though. For that alone it gets an additional two points from me.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
BasquillyMay 27, 2015
A very forgettable installment in a long worn out franchise. Worth seeing if only for the few obligatory action sequences that push the bounds of realism. The tribute to Paul Walker at the end, though somewhat detached from the movie itself,A very forgettable installment in a long worn out franchise. Worth seeing if only for the few obligatory action sequences that push the bounds of realism. The tribute to Paul Walker at the end, though somewhat detached from the movie itself, did threaten to bring a tear to my eye however, and was a fitting goodbye. If only the movie had been a bit more worthy. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
ZawMineMay 11, 2015
I really had a good time watching Furious 7. The action scenes are kind of dumb but awesome anyway. Furious 7 is not my favourite one but I got a lot fun when I watched it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
JacobJun 11, 2016
Furious 7 is car that falls behind for much of the race letting cars labeled 6 & 7 take the lead until the final stretch where it puts on the gas. In the final stretch the fun and energy that had given it victory in the past come full force.Furious 7 is car that falls behind for much of the race letting cars labeled 6 & 7 take the lead until the final stretch where it puts on the gas. In the final stretch the fun and energy that had given it victory in the past come full force. While it does finish first like I would’ve hoped the climax combined with a touching and not forced send off to Aaron Paul make this a bittersweet last ride. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
randomstupidAug 7, 2015
Not very good... boring, plot was thin, background music overload, action overdone, acting average.

Nice, respectful ending.

A background film to watch while cleaning the house.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SatiricalewokNov 20, 2015
For a film named Fast and Furious it is interesting just how slow and pedestrian this film tends to be. It takes an awfully long time to get anywhere or say anything. And I primarily blame James Wan for this, I really don't think he has muchFor a film named Fast and Furious it is interesting just how slow and pedestrian this film tends to be. It takes an awfully long time to get anywhere or say anything. And I primarily blame James Wan for this, I really don't think he has much directorial talent and is yet to direct a film that wasn't too long. But Furious 7 does have some decent set pieces although the cgi is ropier than you'd imagine for a film with this budget. I love Dwayne Johnson and Jason Statham no matter what the film is, and the Paul Walker montage at the end was genuinely moving. But overall meh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
sanyrubAug 22, 2015
And the most basic and generic franchise of all time keeps going with yet another spectacular but empty and boring chapter. As always, a bunch of mediocre (or just bad) actors being the face of a too long roller-coaster with no depth andAnd the most basic and generic franchise of all time keeps going with yet another spectacular but empty and boring chapter. As always, a bunch of mediocre (or just bad) actors being the face of a too long roller-coaster with no depth and ridiculous and sugar-coated dialogues. No matter how crazy and good some action scenes are, when you can not care at all about anything that happens to anyone in a film and there´s no sign of decent story anywhere, it is just boring. Which feels like a total waste of so much money (the money that costs making these big films). How I wish quality blockbusters would be the ones topping the box office and not this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
eagleeyevikingJan 5, 2016
Furious 7 drives on a impossibly narrow stretch of plot; but being part of the Fast & Furious franchise which doesn't exactly abide to the Laws of Physics, just about manages to scrape through. Perhaps it's strongest point is how, given theFurious 7 drives on a impossibly narrow stretch of plot; but being part of the Fast & Furious franchise which doesn't exactly abide to the Laws of Physics, just about manages to scrape through. Perhaps it's strongest point is how, given the amount of over the top stunts it contains, still manages to deftly handle Paul Walker's character in an unavoidably emotional last several minutes. R.I.P Paul Walker. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MaddisonJul 6, 2015
I found the movie interesting. First furious movie I watched to be honest but really I could not sit in the cinemas for 2 hours watching it. It's too long although the music they used were great. Vin Diesel is a great actor. The ending was soI found the movie interesting. First furious movie I watched to be honest but really I could not sit in the cinemas for 2 hours watching it. It's too long although the music they used were great. Vin Diesel is a great actor. The ending was so sad in tribute to the death of actor Paul Walker. Rest in peace Paul! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
KiwiCommandoAug 31, 2015
A movie that killed my interests in the franchise. All it does is engage the watcher with combat and explosions, executed with a poor story. I don't understand how anyone loves this movie. This two-hour movie is merely mediocre.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
FuturedirectorApr 25, 2016
If we'd live in an utopic reality, where Paul Walker would not have passed away, Furious 7 would've not been as successful as we can see now. Anyway, it has enough action, eye-popping sequences of thrilling stunts and a truly satisfying result.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
SrPepeJul 8, 2018
Una entrega muy innecesaria y bastante mala, muy por detrás de la cuarta y la quinta.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Bob198Jun 20, 2016
This is the stupidest films i have ever seen,but its a fun film to see. Dose it have bad acting yes. Does it have a good story line no. Is the action good yes! it is just a fun film just do not go into this move its going to meaningful andThis is the stupidest films i have ever seen,but its a fun film to see. Dose it have bad acting yes. Does it have a good story line no. Is the action good yes! it is just a fun film just do not go into this move its going to meaningful and you will have fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
triple_coJun 6, 2017
This film is completely insane, devoid of any reality and providing set pieces that are neither plausible nor believable. The script is tongue-and-cheek, full of cheesy one liners that are almost always followed by a dramatic explosion orThis film is completely insane, devoid of any reality and providing set pieces that are neither plausible nor believable. The script is tongue-and-cheek, full of cheesy one liners that are almost always followed by a dramatic explosion or expensive stunt piece. For all of its ludicrousness, however, Furious 7 remains entertaining throughout its two-hour run. It isn't a serious film and its plot is mostly background to the stunt work. There is a warmth to its simplicity, even if you feel somewhat bombarded by the endless missiles, car crashes and steely Vin Diesel grunts. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
danadamsMar 23, 2017
Excellent Movie! I love the screenplay and those car actions. To say as a critic, it's just another average movie with loads of actions but 100% beyond reality and ambiguous in some scenes. I feel for Paul Walker as well and wish he could beExcellent Movie! I love the screenplay and those car actions. To say as a critic, it's just another average movie with loads of actions but 100% beyond reality and ambiguous in some scenes. I feel for Paul Walker as well and wish he could be in Fate of the Furious. Here's A tribute to Paul: The Fate of the Furious 2017 However, waiting for the biggest release of the 8th movie of Furious Series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews